Shrinking Linda does not Equal Shrinking Wardrobe

I’ve been on another declutter mission. I finally gave myself a good talking to and decided to get rid of clothes that don’t fit me.

Keeping clothes that don’t fit

These are clothes that have never fit me.

These are clothes that will fit me in another life if I slim down a couple of dress sizes.

These are clothes that still have the tags on them.

These are clothes that tell me I’ve wasted a couple of hundred quid in TK Maxx.

So, it was with a heavy heart that I bagged all the stuff up. I ended up with five bags. I can’t be doing with ebay, it feels like such a faff to get the clothes on there for not much return. Everything was ready for charity (well one of those weigh and pay places). It has been sitting in my spare room for about a month waiting for Papa Ouzo to come and collect it all in his car.

And then I joined Weight Watchers

About a month ago I hit rock bottom and decided I need to get healthy. Months of eating bread and cheese (not because I’m destitute, just because I’m lazy) had left me feeling lethargic, bloated and unhappy. Add to that an unhealthy love of the wine and stout and you were faced with a very miserable Linda.

I noticed a Weight Watchers class five minutes from my house. It was at 6.15pm on a Thursday – so easy to get to after work. There were no excuses, so I signed up.

I am very happy to report that I’ve lost 11lbs in three weeks.  My class leader said that a loss of 10lbs usually maps to a dress size. I’d noticed a few tops feel a bit looser but nothing that dramatic.

This weekend I decided I’d try a few dresses and tops that I hadn’t worn for months as they were getting a bit snug. Guess what? They fit!

Undoing the declutter

And you can guess what happened next. You know those bags that were sitting in the spare room? I had a little root around. I had a little try on of some of the clothes. They fit. Well some of them do. There’s a dress in there that I really want to fit me now. Give me until the end of the summer and we’ll see where I’m at!

 

Spilling out of the back of this Nine West dress....
Spilling out of the back of this Nine West dress (but the colours are so pretty)….

One bag of clothes made its way back into my wardrobe. Oops.

Shrinking Linda does not equal shrinking wardrobe.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Shrinking Linda does not Equal Shrinking Wardrobe

Leave a Reply

